Matiang’i creates new Sub-county in troubled Laikipia as govt fights bandits

By , K24 Digital
On Fri, 10 Sep, 2021 12:45 | < 1 min read
Interior CS Dr. Fred Matiang'i with Rift-Valley Regional Commissioner George Natembeya and other security officials at Ol Muran on Friday, September 10.PHOTO/COURTESY.

Interior Cabinet Secretary Dr. Fred Matiang’i has created a new administrative unit within the larger Laikipia county. 

Through a Kenya Gazette notice dated September 9, Matiangi created the new administrative district whose headquarters are in Kirima as a service delivery and coordination unit. 

The newly created sub-county will comprise Ngarua, Sipili and hard-hit Ol Moran ward.

“In exercise of powers conferred on me by section 14(!) and (3) of the National Government Co-ordination Act, 2013; and in effort to enhance coordination of the functions of the National Government, the Cabinet Secretary for Interior and Coordination of National Government establishes the following administrative unit as service delivery co-ordination unit,” the gazette notice read. 

The creation of the new administrative unit by Matiangi comes alongside an announcement by Laikipia County government that highlighted major developments in the fight against banditry attacks in Ol Moran ward.

Operating from the troubled Ol Moran area, county governor Nderitu Muriithi announced that so far, his administration has received foodstuff and building materials donations from Nakuru county government to help in resettling survivors of the banditry attacks.

"The County Government of Nakuru has donated foodstuff and building materials to Ol Moran attack survivors. Internal Security CS Fred Matiang'i is expected to provide more support to the survivors in form of foodstuff and building materials," the statement read in part.

The national government, working in cahoots with the county government, will reconstruct all the houses and schools that had been destroyed by the bandits.

The government will also upgrade Survey, Luoniek and Nagum police posts to police stations.

On its part, the county government will construct a modern police division headquarters at Ol Moran and the three police stations Survey, Luoniek and Nagum.

The construction of Ol Moran police division commenced on Thursday, September 9, 2021.