Jubilee purge targets at least 20 MPs for ejection from National Assembly committees

By , K24 Digital
On Wed, 3 Jun, 2020 14:47 | < 1 min read
Moses Kuria
Gatundu South MP Moses Kuria. PHOTO | FILE
Gatundu South MP Moses Kuria. PHOTO | FILE

The new Jubilee Majority Whip has hit the ground running, targeting at least 20 MPs for removal from National Assembly committees over alleged disloyalty.

The MPs being targetted are those currently serving as committee chairpersons and vice-chairpersons.

Nearly all the MPs set for ejection are close allies of Deputy President William Ruto.

By Wednesday afternoon, K24 Digital had learnt of at least five of the casualties, namely: Moses Kuria, Joyce Korir, Robert Pukose, Cornelly Serem, and Kimani Ichungwah.

Gatundu South MP Kuria was the first MP to publish on his social media accounts the letter of notice for removal from the Transport Committee by the Navakholo MP Wangwe.

“Pursuant to Standing Orders 176 (1) and 176 (2) you are hereby notified that the Jubilee party which nominated you intends to discharge you, you are hereby given 7 days to respond before you are discharged,” read Wangwe's letter.

Bomet MP Korir is set to be axed from the Labour and Social Welfare Committee, Endebess MP Pukose from the Energy Committee and Aldai MP from the Trade, Industry and Co-Operative Committee.

Kikuyu MP Kimani Ichungwah is set to be removed as the chairperson of the Budget and Appropriations Committee.

The MPs are the latest casualties of President Uhuru Kenyatta's purge of legislators who've been focusing on 2022 succession politics at the expense of promoting his development agenda.