Relief for Kioni, Murathe as High Court halts Jubilee takeover by Kanini Kega-led faction

By , K24 Digital
On Thu, 13 Jul, 2023 17:39 | 2 mins read
Jubilee Vice-chair David Murathe and Secretary General Jeremiah Kioni at a past press conference. PHOTO/Courtesy

The High Court has suspended leadership changes in the Jubilee party that saw Secretary-General Jeremiah Kioni and Vice-chair David Murathe expelled from the former ruling party.

The court on Thursday issued conservatory orders setting aside a recent ruling by the Political Parties and Disputes Tribunal (PPDT) that gave a nod to the takeover of the party by a faction led by EALA MP Kanini Kega and nominated legislator Sabina Chege.

Justice Asenath Ongeri ordered the party to halt any leadership changes pending hearing and determination of a petition lodged by the Kioni-led group.

"In the meantime, conservatory orders are granted in terms of prayers 1,2,3 and 4 of the application dated July 12, 2023," Justice Ongeri ordered.

Murathe and Kioni were expelled in May over gross misconduct and lack of respect for Jubilee organs.

Kega and his allies had proposed a list of new leaders to steer the party, following their recent victory in the fight for the heart and soul of Jubilee.

In a Gazette notice released by the Registrar of Political Parties Ann Nderitu, the party proposed Kega to continue acting as the Secretary-General and Sabina Chege to continue acting as Jubilee Party Leader, replacing former President Uhuru Kenyatta.

The party also proposed Eldas MP Adan Keynan to replace Murathe as the National Deputy Chairperson.

Suspended acting National Treasurer Kagwe Gichohi was to be replaced by Kitui South MP Rachael Nyamai.

The party also nominated Mumina Bonaya as the Women League National Chairperson to replace Fatuma Gedi.

Other appointments include Isiolo Senator Fatuma Dullo (Senate Leader), Lamu Senator Joseph Kamau (Senate Chief Whip) and Nakuru West MP Samuel Arama (National Assembly leader).

Chege was nominated as the Jubilee National Assembly Chief Whip while Laikipia North MP Sarah Korere was fronted as the National Assembly Deputy Chief Whip.

Menengai Ward MCA Wajeff Mwangi was nominated to the position of MCA council chairperson.

Kega's faction also nominated Bahati MP Irene Mrembo, Margaret Kamar and Jerusha Momanyi to serve as members of the National Executive Committee.

Isiolo Governor Abdi Guyo was nominated to the position of Governor's Council chairperson.

To ratify the changes, the party called for a National Delegates Convention (NDC) at the Bomas of Kenya on August 7, 2023.

Related Topics