Azziad, Churchill lose state jobs after CS Namwamba revokes appointments

By , K24 Digital
On Fri, 9 Jun, 2023 16:36 | 2 mins read
Azziad, Churchill lose state jobs after CS Namwamba terminates appointments
Collage of TikToker Azziad and Comedian Churchill. PHOTOS/(@#AzziadNasenya, Churchill show)

Youths Affairs, Sports and Arts Cabinet Secretary (CS) Ababu Namwamba has revoked the appointment of comedian Daniel Ndambuki alias Churchill, TikTok sensation Azziad Nasenya, and Esther Akoth 'Akothee' among others from the Talanta Hela Council and Technical Committees.

The announcement was made by the CS through a gazette notice dated June 9, 2023.

"It is notified for general information of the public that the Cabinet Secretary for Youth Affairs, Sports and the Arts has revoked Gazette Notice No. 1649 of 2023. Dated the 7th June 2023," the gazette notice reads in parts.

The latest came barely weeks after the High Court suspended the implementation of the initiative where its appointees would serve for a period of three years.

“Pending the hearing and determination of this application interparties, an interim order be and is hereby issued suspending the special issue of the Kenya Gazette Notice 1649(Vol. CXXV No.32) dated February 10, 2023, publishing the establishment of the Talanta Hela Council and its Technical Committees and consequent appointments for a period of 3 years effective from February 10, 2023,” justice Lawrence Mugambi ruled on May 23, 2023.

The Talanta Hela initiative was launched by the State to support the creative industry by creating employment opportunities.

Other roles handed to the committee included: being responsible for the implementation of the National Creatives Economy Plan, collection and distribution of royalties, managing the National Creatives Awards, monetizing the creatives sector, and monetizing the creatives sector among others.

According to CS Namwamba, the initiative was comprised of two technical committees; Sports and Creatives.

The creatives Technical committee led by Daniel Ndambuki (Churchill) comprised; Azziad Naseenya, Rosemary Wahu Kagwi, Jimmy Gathu, Esther Akoth (Akothee), Douglas Kipkirui Langat, Susan Ekasiba, Kizito Makhande, Catherine Kamau and Akinyi Odongo.

While the creatives committee focused on the creative industry, the sports committee was formed to enhance the growth of sports and support the Kenya Academy of Sports in different pursuits as well as the Harambee Stars and Harambee Starlets.

The sports Technical Committee led by media personality Carol Radull as chairperson comprised of Boniface Ambani, Julius Kiplagat Yego, Neddy Kutsuru, Alfred Makotsi, Sammy Tiyoi Shollei, Collins Kale, Kevin Mutai, Shilovelo Winna Shilavula, Daniel Nakeor Losiru, Staicy Shariffa Ochieng.

Related Topics