Ole Kina furious as ODM rejects his election to chair powerful Senate committee

By , K24 Digital
On Mon, 4 May, 2020 20:06 | 2 mins read
Ledama Ole Kina
Narok Senator Ledama Ole Kina at a past function. PHOTO | FILE
Narok Senator Ledama Ole Kina at a past function. PHOTO | FILE

The Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) on Monday rejected the election of Narok Senator Ledama Ole Kina as chair of the powerful County Public Accounts and Investments Committee (CPAIC), warning that it will withdraw its membership in the team.

The letter to the Senate Speaker Kenneth Lusaka was authored barely hours after Senator Ole Kina had celebrated the victory that pitted him against Kisii counterpart Sam Ongeri. This was the second time Ongeri was running for CPAIC chair.

“I express and register dissatisfaction with the conduct and the outcome of the election the leadership of the County Public Accounts and Investigations Committee which were purportedly done today. We intend to withdraw our membership from the said committee until an appropriate resolution can be made,” said Senate Minority Leader, Siaya Senator James Orengo.

During the election to replace Homa Bay Senator KajwaMoses Kajwang' whose term has ended, Ole Kina got five votes against Ongeri's four.


ALSO READ: ODM senators battle to chair powerful watchdog committee in bid to shine ahead of 2022 polls

However, sources revealed that ODM had Ongeri as their preferred choice for the leadership of the committee that oversees counties and their executives.

ODM is reported to have persuaded Migori Senator Ochillo Ayacko to step down in favour of Ongeri.

But sources revealed that majority of the committee members felt that Ongeri did not have the energy to head the committee.

During the elections, Kiambu Senator Kimani Wamatangi, who also served in the committee in the last Parliament was elected as the vice-chairman taking over from his Meru counterpart Mithika Linturi

Ole Kina protested ODM's decision to question the validity of his election.

“I was democratically elected for the position but there are people who do not want me to serve it,” Ole Kina said but vowed to fight to keep his victory.

Senator Wamatangi of Jubilee was voted for overwhelmingly after his challenger Muran’ga Senator Irungu Kan’gata failed to get a proposer.

“I am honoured to have been elected as vice-chairperson of County Public Accounts and Investment Committee (CPAIC), together with Narok Senator Ledama Ole Kina as chairperson. We will discharge our duties fearlessly,” Wamatangi said.

Other members of the committee are Hargura Godana (Marsabit), Johnes Mwaruma (Taita Taveta) and Millicent Omanga (nominated).