COVID-19: Kisumu family forced to bury their kin at 4am after failing to honour burial permit

By , K24 Digital
On Sat, 19 Jun, 2021 11:18 | 2 mins read
Coffin waiting near grave. PHOTO: Courtesy
Family forced to bury at night. PHOTO: Courtesy

A family in Muhoroni Sub Cunty was on the wee hours of Saturday morning forced to bury the remains of their kin after failing to do so on Friday as indicated on the burial permit.

According to a police OB report seen by K24 Digital, a multi-agency team comprising of the deputy county commissioner, sub county police commander, criminal investigations officer and respective parties all of the said sub county led the operation.

This follows new Covid-19 regulations aimed at arresting the spread of Covid-19

The group visited the home of Risper Juma in Kore Village in Ombeyi Location and directed the family to inter the remains after establishing that the family kept the body past the set date

“The multi-agency team established that the body of the deceased had not been buried, a violation of the covid 19 rules set timeline. Scrutiny on the burial permit indicates that the body was supposed to have been buried on June 18, 2021,” reads in part the OB report.

The OB report confirmed that the body was buried at 0400hrs.

Strict burial procedures were imposed in 12 counties that have witnessed a surge in the number of Covid-19 cases in the country.

In measures that were announced by Health Cabinet Secretary Mutahi Kagwe on Wednesday, all funerals in the Covid-19 hotspot areas are supposed to be done within 72 hours after the death of a person.

He also banned night funeral vigils until further notice.

“All funeral and interment ceremonies within the hotspot zone shall be conducted within 72 hours of confirmation of death.

“Night vigils and overnight processions prior to funerals are prohibited within the hotspot zone until further notice,” CS Kagwe announced.

The 12 counties that were affected include Busia, Vihiga, Kisii, Nyamira, Kakamega, Kericho, Bomet, Bungoma, Trans-Nzoia, Kisumu, Siaya, Homa-Bay and Migori