Sporadic violence mar Gem South ward by-election

By , K24 Digital
On Thu, 8 Dec, 2022 19:25 | 2 mins read
Sporadic violence mar Gem South ward by-election
Vehicle torched by angry youths in Gem. PHOTO/ Eric Juma

Violence rocked parts of the Gem South ward on Thursday, December 8, 2022, leaving several people injured and vehicles smashed.

Though police launched investigations into the violent incidences but no one had been arrested by the time of publication.

The major chaotic incident happened at the Kambare polling station where a vehicle carrying journalists was stoned.

Gem sub-county police commander Charles Chacha confirmed the incident saying that seven people were nursing injuries at various hospitals.

"One of the vehicles overturned after it lost control when angry youths pelted it with stones," Chacha said adding that in the process five people were injured.

Two of the seven people who were injured in the melee were knocked down by the speeding vehicle. The two were rushed to Bondo sub-county referral hospital.

It's reported that youths who were pro-Polycarp Wanga clashed with those supporting independent candidate Brian Onyango at the Kambare police post.

The incident left some of the youths with deep panga cuts. Police had to repel the youths by firing tear gas canisters.

Victims of the skirmishes led by Wanga went to Akala police station where they reported the incident.

The politician condemned the incident and accused the police of not responding to their distress call in time.

Wanga at the same time accused his opponent of hiring goons to cause mayhem.

He claimed that the plan was well executed by his opponent Onyango's teams and that they scared the elderly voters who opted to run for their dear lives.

Low turnout

Meanwhile, the South Gem Returning Officer Ezekiel Juma expressed concern over low voter turnout in the ward.
By 10 am, only 12 per cent of the registered voters had cast their votes.

South Gem ward has a total of 18,560 registered voters.

The by-election attracted nine candidates; John Otieno Adino (Liberal Democratic Party), David Audi Onyango (United Democratic Movement), David Akach Nyang’un (Independent), Brian Chieng Anyango Obiero (Independent), Enock Okinyi (Communist Party of Kenya), Benard Otieno Ondego (Movement for Democracy and Growth), Kenneth Omollo Otieno (Jubilee), Christopher Ouma Owuoth (Independent) and Polycarp Otieno Wanga (ODM).

Related Topics