Uhuru nominates officials to fi*l top positions at TSC

By , K24 Digital
On Wed, 31 Mar, 2021 15:09 | < 1 min read
Kenya's president Uhuru Kenyatta. [PHOTO | FILE]
President Uhuru Kenyatta. [PHOTO | FILE]
Kenya's president Uhuru Kenyatta. [PHOTO | FILE]

President Uhuru Kenyatta has nominated two senior officials to the Teachers Service Commission (TSC).

Dr Jamleck Muturi has been appointed to fill the chairperson position while Timon Alfred Otieno has been nominated as a commissioner.

The President notified National Assembly Speaker Justin Muturi of the appointment and sought approval from the House.

“Standing Order 45 requires that, upon receipt of notice of nomination for appointment of a person to such office, the nomination shall stand committed to relevant Departmental Committee of the House for consideration,” said Muturi.

Muturi said Section 8(8) of the Teachers Service Commission Act, (No.20 of 2012), requires the National Assembly to either approve or reject the nominees within 21 days of its sittings.

He has since referred the notification of appointment to the Departmental Committee on Education and Research to undertake the necessary approval hearings.

“The Committee should notify the nominees and the general public of the time and place for holding the approval hearings, and upon conclusion of the hearings, table their report in good time to enable the House to consider the matter within the stipulated timelines,” added the Speaker.

The position of TSC chairperson fell vacant last year when Dr Lydia Nzomo retired.

Nzomo, who was the first chairperson under the independent TSC, left office on November 18, having served a non-renewable term of six years.

Nzomo took oath of office on December 9, 2014, which marked the beginning of her tenure to lead TSC as a Constitutional Commission.