Normal traffic resumes at Mtwapa-Kilifi Road after KeNHA restores damaged bridge

By , K24 Digital
On Sun, 26 Nov, 2023 14:07 | 2 mins read
A section of the Mbogolo bridge in Kilifi damaged by floods. PHOTO/(@KeNHA)X

The Kenya National Highways Authority (KeNHA) on Sunday announced that the Mtwapa-Kilifi A7 road is now open to traffic.

In a statement, the authority noted that development follows the completion of restoration works at the Mbogolo bridge which was washed away by floods.

"The Kenya National Highways Authority informs the public that Mtwapa - Kilifi (A7) Road is now open to traffic. This follows the completion of restoration works at the Mbogolo Bridge that was washed away by floods," KeNHA said.

Earlier, the road agency declared that the road was impassable and advised motorists to use the Mombasa-Mazeras-Kaloleni-Mavueni-Kilifi Road after the bridge was washed away following a heavy downpour.

"KeNHA informs the public that Mbogolo Bridge on Mtwapa - Kilifi (A7) Road has been cut off. The cut of this bridge disrupts traffic to and from Mombasa. Motorists are advised to use an alternative route of Mombasa-Mazeras-Kaloleni -Mavueni-Kilifi Road," a statement by KeNHA stated.

"Currently, a new bridge is being constructed in this area as part of the Kwa Kadzengo-Kilifi Road Project. KeNHA staff are on site to help restore traffic passage through the affected road section. Motorists are asked to exercise restraint as efforts are made to restore traffic flow," the agency added.

Heavy rains

The notice by KeNHA comes amidst an advisory from the Kenya Meteorological Department over the ongoing rains which have continued to wreak havoc across different parts of the country.

In a statement, the weatherman stated that the heavy rains are expected to continue across different parts of the country such as the Highlands East and West of the Rift Valley, the South-eastern lowlands, the Coast and North-eastern Kenya.

The rains will also continue in areas such as Siaya, Kisumu, Homabay, Migori, Kisii, Nyamira, Trans Nzoia, Baringo, Uasin Gishu, Elgeyo-Marakwet, Nandi, Nakuru, Narok, Kericho, Bomet, Kakamega, Vihiga, Bungoma, Busia and West Pokot.

Related Topics