Movement within Nairobi Metropolitan Area allowed

By , K24 Digital
On Mon, 6 Apr, 2020 19:10 | < 1 min read
State House Kenya
President Uhuru Kenyatta . PHOTO | PSCU
President Uhuru Kenyatta when issued order banning movement in and out of Nairobi on April 6, 2020 at State House, Nairobi. PHOTO | PSCU

Following the announced by the President Uhuru Kenyatta banning movement in and out of Nairobi from Monday, State House has issued a clarification on activities within the area.

In a tweet posted on the State House official handle, authorities clarified that movement within the Nairobi Metropolitan area is allowed except for the national curfew period between 7 pm and 5 am.

"What is prohibited is the movement IN and OUT of the Gazetted areas for the period of 21 days effective 7 pm tonight.

The Nairobi Metropolitan Area is designated as Nairobi City County, part of Kiambu County up to Chania River Bridge (Thika), including Rironi, Ndenderu, Kiambu Town, part of Machakos County up to Athi-River, including Katani, Part of Kajiado County including Kitengela, Kiserian, Ongata Rongai and Ngong Town, and all other areas as set out in the Order.

During the national briefing, President Kenyatta said that the Health Cabinet Secretary Mutahi Kagwe had designated Nairobi, Mombasa, Kwale and Kilifi counties Covid-19 infected areas.