List: The 24 counties that have finally received Ksh14.5 billion from the National Treasury

By , K24 Digital
On Wed, 8 Jan, 2020 17:42 | < 1 min read
Treasury CS Ukur Yatani. [PHOTO | FILE]
Treasury CS Ukur Yatani. [PHOTO | FILE]
Treasury CS Ukur Yatani. [PHOTO | FILE]

The National Treasury has announced that it has released at least Ksh14.5 billion to 24 counties that have remarkably or fully paid suppliers their dues.

Out of the 24, the CS-Treasury, Ukur Yatani, said 15 had fully complied, whereas nine had presented convincing plans on how they would meet their debt obligations.

The 15 counties that have fully settled their bills include: Homa Bay, Kajiado, Kericho, Baringo, Elgeyo-Marakwet, Laikipia, Kwale, Embu, Kilifi, Kitui, Makueni, Nyamira, Nyandarua, Nyeri and Uasin Gishu.

“The following nine counties have presented clear, acceptable, eligible pending bills payment plans, and have adhered to them: Wajir, Nandi, Murang’a, Kakamega, Tharaka-Nithi, Nairobi, Mombasa, Kisii and Taita Taveta,” said Yatani in a press statement dated January 8.

In November last year, Yatani announced that the National Treasury will stop cash disbursements to counties that were yet to pay suppliers for goods and services already delivered.

Related Topics