List of new High Court judges sworn in on Tuesday

By , K24 Digital
On Tue, 14 May, 2024 09:48 | 2 mins read
High Court Judges
The High Court Judges sworn in on Tuesday, May 14, 2024. PHOTO/@Kenyajudiciary/X

20 judges of the High Court were sworn in on Tuesday, May 14, 2024, at the State House in Nairobi.

The judges were appointed through a gazette notice dated May 9, following recommendations by the Judicial Service Commission (JSC).

The 20 are among 305 applicants who registered interest in the positions, after an advertisement by JSC on October 13, 2023. 100 candidates were shortlisted and interviewed for the positions.

The selection process, which included interviews from April 3 to May 3, 2024, was conducted to ensure that the new judges possess the requisite skills and experience to carry out their duties effectively.

The JSC forwarded the names of the selected candidates to the President early this month before he formally appointed them as judges of the High Court.

The new team will be tasked with presiding over cases in various jurisdictions across the country and will play a crucial role in shaping the direction of Kenya's legal system.

Speaking during the swearing in ceremony, President William Ruto urged the judges to render justice not only to the rich but also to the poor.

“Ultimately, we will be judged not by how we serve the strong and influential, but by how we support and protect the weak, the poor, and the vulnerable,” Ruto said.

"I encourage you to commit yourselves to serving the people with integrity and professionalism and to reject corruption in all its manifestations. Without integrity, the credibility of our judiciary, as well as all public institutions, is severely questioned. Corruption, even the slightest hint of it, irreversibly compromises the authority and effectiveness of our courts."

List of new judges

The 20 newly sworn in judges include:

1. Moses Ado Otieno.

2. Alice Chepngetich Bett Soi.

3. Benjamin Mwikya Musyoka.

4. John Lolwatan Tamar.

5. Francis Weche Andayi.

6. Andrew Bahati Mwamuye.

7. Julius Kipkosgei Ng'arng'ar.

8. Wendy Kagendo Micheni.

9. Emily Onyando Ominde.

10. Helene Rafaela Namisi.

11. Alexander Muasya Mutetiand

12. Julius Mukut Nangea.

13. Benjamin Kimani Njoroge.

14. Caroline Jepyegen Kendagor.

15. Stephen Nzisi Mbungi.

16. Linus Poghon Kassan.

17. Noel Onditi Adagi Inziani.

18. Tabitha Ouya Wanyama.

19. Rhoda Cherotich Ruto

20. Joe Omido Mkutu.

Before you go…how about joining our vibrant Telegram and WhatsApp channels for hotter stories?



Related Topics