List of 9 Al-Shabaab sponsors whose money and property Matiangi has frozen

By , K24 Digital
On Wed, 2 Sep, 2020 13:38 | < 1 min read
CS Matiangi imposes curfew Kerio Valleyin
Interior Cabinet Secretary, Dr Fred Matiangi. PHOTO/ FILE
Interior Cabinet Secretary, Dr Fred Matiangi. PHOTO | FILE

Interior Cabinet Secretary (CS) Fred Matiangi on Wednesday published the names of nine Kenyan nationals linked to terrorism financing.

The Interior CS also ordered the freezing of the funds and properties of the nine individuals, saying they have been financing Al-Shabaab militia operations.

"As part of our comprehensive counterterrorism strategy, we continue to disrupt terrorist operations with a sole focus on bringing to book the perpetrators, financiers and sponsors of these reprehensible acts in line with our national laws and international obligations," said CS Matiang'i.

The listed Kenyans are:

  1. Halima Adan Ali
  2. Waleed Ahmed Zein
  3. Sheikh Guyo Gorsa Boru
  4. Mohammed Abdi Ali (Abu Fidaa)
  5. Nuseiba Mohammed Haji
  6. Abdimajit Adan Hassan
  7. Mohammed Ali Abdi
  8. Muktar Ibrahim Ali
  9. Mire Abdullahi Elmi

The Interior boss said that the Al-Shabaab militia remains the single biggest threat to Kenya's and global peace and security.

"Kenyans now face blatant, increasingly complex, and evolving terror threats, particularly from Al-Shabaab, whose aim is to attack, destabilise, and distrust our way of life.

The CS said that Al-Shaabab continues to plant operatives among civilians to advance its agenda through recruitment and radicalisation to violent extremism and terrorism.