Covid-19 not a Nairobi disease, Kagwe w*rns counties neig*bou**ng Metro

By , K24 Digital
On Mon, 20 Apr, 2020 15:19 | < 1 min read
Mutahi Kagwe
Health CS Mutahi Kagwe at a past function. PHOTO | COURTESY
Health CS Mutahi Kagwe at a past function. PHOTO | COURTESY

Eleven more people have tested positive for coronavirus disease, bringing the total number of infections in Kenya to 281.

The Ministry of Health said that of the new cases, six are male patients while five are female.

Health Cabinet Secretary (CS) Mutahi Kagwe said that the country has 33 active quarantine centres but a few others have been closed down.

CS Kagwe also made a special appeal to Machakos, Kajiado, Kiambu and Murang'a residents to stop treating Covid-19 as a Nairobi disease.

"Already, a number of your residents have contracted the virus and we have isolated them. In Machakos County we have seven cases: Syokimau (2), Athi River (1) Kamulu (1), Kithunguni (1) and Viranchi. In Kiambu, we have a case each in Githurai, Githurai 45, Ndongoru, Thindigua, Tinganga, Waithaka and Wataalamu. In Kajiado, we have cases in Kitengela, Matasia and Ongata Rongai. In Muranga, we have two cases in Gatanga and Lumumba Drive," said CS Kagwe.

Mr. Kagwe said that 455 people have been quarantined for defying curfew restrictions.

Further, the government has designated an isolation centre for healthcare workers with financial assistance from Amref Kenya and the Rockerfeller Foundation.