High Court nullifies 24 laws passed by National Assembly

By , K24 Digital
On Thu, 29 Oct, 2020 15:31 | < 1 min read
Parliament building. PHOTO | FILE
Parliament building. PHOTO | FILE

The High Court has declared 24 laws that were passed by the National Assembly without the involvement of the Senate as unconstitutional.

A three-judge bench on Thursday nullified the said bills, saying the National Assembly must be in concurrence with the Senate in considering law enactment.

According to Justices Jairus Ngaah, Anthony Ndung’u and Teresia Matheka, one Speaker cannot unilaterally make a decision as to whether a bill does or does not concern counties.

“A declaration is hereby issued that the said Acts passed by the National Assembly are unconstitutional, null and void for violation of articles Article 96, 109, 110, 111, 112 and 113 of the constitution,” ruled the Judges.

Some of the bills affected are the Computer Cyber Crime Act, Finance Act 2018, the Supplementary Appropriation Act, the Health Laws among others.

The Judges, however, suspended their ruling for nine months to allow the National Assembly to comply with the procedures set out in the Constitution.