Ex-MP Benjamin Washiali, 15 others shortlisted for CAS jobs as gov’t amends list

By , K24 Digital
On Wed, 22 Feb, 2023 10:39 | 2 mins read
Ex-MP Benjamini Washiali, 15 others shortlisted for CAS jobs as gov't amends list
Former Mumias East MP Ben Washiali. PHOTO/Courtesy

The Public Service Commission (PSC) has amended the list of candidates shortlisted for the Chief Administrative Secretary (CAS) positions, increasing the number to 240 from 224.

In a public notice on Wednesday, February 22, PSC chairperson Anthony Muchiri said the new list supersedes the one which was published in the print media yesterday.

Former Mumias East Member of Parliament Benjamin Washiali is among 16 new names added to the new list that features several allies of President William Ruto.

Washiali, who has served as MP for a period of 15 years, did not defend his seat in last year's general election. He is a key Ruto point man in the vast Western region and was one of the victims of the purge against the former deputy president's allies in the National Assembly in 2020 when he lost his National Assembly Majority Whip seat.

Allan Kosgey, who unsuccessfully contested for United Democratic Alliance (UDA) party ticket in the Nandi gubernatorial race last year, has also been shortlisted for the CAS job.

Others on the shortlist are former Baringo Speaker Kiplagat David Kipkorir, former Kibwezi West MP UDA candidate James Kimanthi Mbaluka, former Mandera Senator Mohamed Maalim Mohamud, former Kenyan Ambassador to Saudi Arabia Mohamud Ali Saleh, Loice Chepchirchir Rono, and former Migori County Assembly Minority Leader Nicholas Ngabiya Rioba.

Mohammeddin Ibrahim Ibrein, David Sande Oyolo and Lucy Mihiuko Muchoki also made it to the list.

The list published on Monday featured prominent politicians, election losers, journalists and other professionals seeking to join Ruto's government.

Some of those invited for interviews on March 1 played a key role in the election of Ruto while others are allies of Azimio la Umoja -One Kenya leader Raila Odinga who ditched him after losing the presidential election to Kenya Kwanza Alliance.

Notable names on the list include former governors Evans Kidero (Nairobi), James Ongwae (Kisii) and Ruto loyalists who lost election bids last year including former nominated Senator Millicent Omanga, former Kakamega Senator Cleophas Malala, former Kirinyaga Woman Rep Purity Ngirici, former nominated MP Isaac Mwaura and former Lamu Senator Anwar Loitiptip. 

PSC kicked off the recruitment exercise after the Employment and Labour Relations Court declared the establishment of the office of CAS as constitutional.

Justice Monicah Mbaru ruled that the decision of the PSC to create the position is lawful.

The exercise was halted in October 2022 after the Law Society of Kenya (LSK) sued PSC arguing that the position was created without public participation.

The society also argued that the existence of the office would cause financial strain on the country.

Related Topics