Floods calamity: Death toll rises to 278 after one person dies in 24 hours

By , K24 Digital
On Mon, 13 May, 2024 16:52 | 2 mins read
Government Spokesperson Isaac Mwaura. PHOTO/Isaac(@SpokespersonGoK)/X
Government Spokesperson Isaac Mwaura. PHOTO/@SpokespersonGoK/X

One person died from flood-related incidences over the last 24 hours, bringing the death toll to 278, Government Spokesperson Isaac Mwaura has announced.

Addressing the press on Monday, May 13, 2024, Mwaura stated that the recent flooding still ongoing in various parts of the country has affected 411,825 people.

He also noted that the floods have left 58,009 households displaced in Nairobi adding the number to the already displaced 55,575 households countrywide.

"The government sends sincere condolences to the affected families and continues to emphasize the safety and security of all Kenyans especially, those residing in the high-risk areas, he said.

Mwaura also called on Kenyans and other local and international partners to join in rescue efforts for the victims of the floods.

"The government will continue to provide the required support to the affected communities and we urge fellow Kenyans as well as our local and international partners, to continue to work with us in providing search and rescue services as well as food and non-food item supplies to the affected households," the government spokesman added.

Additionally, Mwaura issued an update on the flood situation saying it is persisting in some parts of the country and is expected to continue in the low-lying, riparian and urban areas.

He also noted that landslides may occur in areas with steep slopes, escarpments and ravines.

"The areas that have been affected in the last 24 hours include; Narok County, where a landslide has been recorded as well as the Tana Delta area (affecting Tana River, Garisaa and Lamu counties), where there is flooding owing to heavy rains in the central region catchment area," he added.

In the same breathe, Mwaura disclosed that several hotspots and areas prone to mudslides had been identified in Elgeyo Marakwet.

The areas include Turesia, Kapsegut, Siroch, Kolol, Wewo, Maina, Arror, Lelanand Kamoi within the Keiyo North and South Regions and the Marakwet East and West regions.

Further, Mwaura issued an update on the Mai Mahiu situation saying 151 Kenya Defence Forces (KDF) are actively engaged in the area after the tragedy.

Before you go…how about joining our vibrant Telegram and WhatsApp channels for hotter stories?

Telegram: https://t.me/k24tvdigital

WhatsApp: https://whatsapp.com/channel/0029VaKQnFUIXnljs50pC32O

Related Topics