COVID-19: Kenyans returning to old ways, CAS warns as virus load nears 8,000-mark

By , K24 Digital
On Sun, 5 Jul, 2020 17:36 | 2 mins read
Health CAS Dr. Rashid Aman. [PHOTO | FILE]
Health CAS Dr. Rashid Aman. [PHOTO | FILE]
Health CAS Dr. Rashid Aman. [PHOTO | FILE]

Three hundred and nine more people tested positive for coronavirus on Sunday, the Ministry of Health announced.

This raises Kenya's total COVID-19 infections to 7,886.

Dr. Rashid Aman, the Health Chief Administrative Secretary (CAS) also revealed that 51 people were discharged from hospitals, pushing total recoveries to 2,887.

The Health CAS said that the 309 cases were found in a sample of 4,228 that was tested in the last 24 hours.

But Dr. Aman said that the growing number of positive cases indicates that the containment measures put in place by the national government are not fully adhered to.

"We have observed that many of our people are going about their everyday activities as if we are in normal times. there have been cases of illegal gatherings, such as house parties in various counties, with people paying no regard to the need for social distance or wearing of face masks," said the Health official.

He cautioned transport sector players against letting down their guards, especially boda boda operators in rural settings.

"The expectation to have an enforcement officer to police every person is not possible," said Dr. Aman.

In Sunday's results, Nairobi stills led with the most cases followed by Mombasa County while men are still disproportionately affected.

"All the positive cases except seven are Kenyans. 217 are males and 92 females. In terms of age, the youngest is a one-year-old infant while the oldest is 83 years old," said Dr. Aman.

He said that 193 of the new cases were in Nairobi, Kajiado (22), Kiambu (20), Mombasa (18), Makueni (17), Busia (11), Machakos (9), Nakuru (8), Nandi (3), Turkana (3), Narok (2), Nyandarua (1), Kakamega (1) and Kilifi (1).

In Nairobi, the most cases were in Langata with 56, followed by Kibra (18), Westlands (15), Dagoretti North (13), Kasarani (13), Ruaka (12), Embakasi East (11), Embakasi West (11), Makadara (10), Starehe (10), Embakasi South (6), Kamukunji (6), Roysambu (5), Embakasi Central (4), Dagoretti South (1), Embakasi North (1), and Mathare (1).