COVID-19: 147 more test positive as Nairobi estates produce a bulk of the infections

By , K24 Digital
On Thu, 28 May, 2020 15:40 | < 1 min read
Health Cabinet Secretary Mutahi Kagwe [PHOTO | K24 DIGITAL]
Health Cabinet Secretary Mutahi Kagwe [PHOTO | K24 DIGITAL]
Health Cabinet Secretary Mutahi Kagwe [PHOTO | K24 DIGITAL]

Kenya recorded 147 new cases of coronavirus, bringing the country’s total tally to 1, 618, Health Cabinet Secretary Mutahi Kagwe has announced.

Speaking at Tigoni Level 4 Hospital in Kiambu County on Thursday, May 28, Kagwe said the 147 infections were discovered in 2, 831 samples tested between Wednesday and Thursday.

With 90 cases, Nairobi produced the bulk of the new infections. Mombasa had 41 cases, Kiambu had three, Nyeri and Uasin-Gishu had two cases each. Kilifi, Kajiado, Embu, Murang’a are among the other counties that produced at least one case each.

The 90 cases in Nairobi were recorded in the following estates: Kibra (35), Lang’ata (15), Makadara (9), Westlands (8), Embakasi Central (6), Embakasi West (5), Kamukunji (2) and Mathare (1).

All the 147 new COVID-19 patients in Kenya are Kenyans, said the minister.

Eighty seven (87) of the new infections were registered in male patients, whereas 60 were female.

The youngest new COVID-19 patient in Kenya was 1-year-old, whereas the oldest was 87 years old.

Kenya also registered 13 new recoveries, bringing to 421 the total number of COVID-19 recoveries in the country.

Three more people died of the disease, pushing the toll to 58, said Kagwe. Two of the fatalities were recorded in Mombasa, whereas one was registered in Thika, Kiambu County.

“The two persons who died of the disease in Mombasa had pre-existing medical conditions,” said the Health CS.

Kenya has thus far tested 70, 172 samples for coronavirus.

With 835 infections confirmed, Nairobi accounts for more than half of the total coronavirus cases in the country.

Mombasa comes second with 490 cases, Kajiado comes third with 65 infections and Kiambu, with 39 cases, wraps up the Top Four most-affected counties.