Consensus as senators agree on 12-member committee to iron out contentious issues

By , K24 Digital
On Mon, 17 Aug, 2020 21:28 | < 1 min read
The Senate. PHOTO/Courtesy.
The Senate. PHOTO/Courtesy.
Among those proposed to be members of the CPAIC include senators Mithika Lithuri (Meru), Hargura Godana (Marsabit) Kimani Wamatangi (Kiambu) and Milicent Omanga. PHOTO | FILE

The heated debate on the controversial third-basis for the sharing of revenue among counties is nearing end after senators agreed on a new team to iron out contentious issues.

On Monday, the Senate agreed to form a 12-member committee to resolve the issues that have split the House over the last two months.

The team will be headed by Bungoma Senator Moses Wetangula and Nairobi Senator Johnson Sakaja as conveners.

Their report will be submitted to a Speaker's forum which is a meeting of lawmakers chaired by the Speaker.

The breakthrough came on a day characterized by mixed emotions following the arrest Senators Christopher Langat (Bomet), Cleophas Malala (Kakamega), and Steve Lelegwe (Samburu) in unclear circumstances.

The committee will convene on Tuesday, August 18, to develop a work plan.