Amina Mnyazi replaces Aisha Jumwa as Malindi MP

By , K24 Digital
On Thu, 11 Aug, 2022 22:21 | < 1 min read
Amina Mnyazi replaces Aisha Jumwa as Malindi MP
Amina Mnyazi receiving her certificate from the IEBC official at the Malindi constituency tallying centre. PHOTO/Alice Matembo

IEBC declared Amina Mnyazi of ODM as the elected Malindi Member of Parliament (MP) after garnering 21,634 votes.

Mnyazi, the second woman after outgoing MP Aisha Jumwa to occupy the parliamentary seat, emerged as the winner after beating seven men in the race.

While making the Announcement, the Malindi constituency Returning officer Mwanajuma Ali said Mnyazi came first followed by former MP Willy Mtengo of the PAA who received 9437 votes, while Daniel Chai Chiriba of the UDA came third receiving 7221 votes.

Nixon Kingi Nyule, a teacher who contested on the Safina party ticket, finished fourth with 1782 votes.

Other candidates included; Kalama Kenneth Mulewa (Independent - 900 votes), Peter Ponda (ANC - 505 votes), lawyer Richard Otara (312 votes), and Tauea Kaingu (105 votes).

The returning officer Said Malindi had 94,605 registered voters, but only 41,896 voted, while 571 votes were deemed rejected.

"The Malindi constituency had a total of 94,605 registered voters, yet only 41,896 residents voted, and out of the votes cast while 571 were rejects," Mwanajuma said.

Related Topics