Activists in court to have Gachagua, 12 others disqualified from August polls

By , K24 Digital
On Wed, 3 Aug, 2022 12:53 | 2 mins read
Activists want Gachagua barred from August contest
UDA presidential running mate Rigathi Gachagua at a past rally. PHOTO/William Ruto/Twitter

A petition has been lodged before the High Court seeking to block 13 politicians including Kenya Kwanza presidential running mate Rigathi Gachagua from contesting in next week’s polls over integrity issues.

The suit by several activists led by Kenneth Njagi Njiru, Meshach Churchill Suba and Beatrice Kamau wants the court to issue orders barring Gachagua, UDA’s Nairobi gubernatorial candidate Johnson Sakaja, Mohamud Ali Mohamed (Marsabit), Onsemus Muthomi Njuki (Tharaka-Nithi-UDA), Evans Kidero (Homa Bay) - Independent), Ali Korane (Garissa), Dhadho Godana (Tana River), Anne Waiguru (Kirinyaga) -UDA and Aisha Jumwa (Kilifi) - UDA from the August 9 polls.

Others are MPs John Waluke (Sirisia- Jubilee), Samuel Arama (Nakuru Town West- Jubilee), Oscar Sudi (Kapseret- UDA) and Okoth Obado(Migori).

The petitioners want the court to determine whether Gachagua is fit and suitable to hold any public office in the wake of a recent ruling of the High Court, directing him to forfeit Ksh202 million to the government over graft.

"That a mandatory injunction be issued to compel the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) and the Ethics and Anti-corruption Commission (EACC) to inquire whether Gachagua meets the moral, ethical, leadership and integrity provisions envisaged under Article 99(2)(b) and chapter six of the constitution to be registered and or gazetted as candidate for the position of the Deputy President of the Republic of Kenya," the petition reads in part.

They further want IEBC and EACC to file their report on the findings and determination to the court by Thursday, August 4, 2022.

The activists also want the matter referred to Chief Justice Martha Koome to constitute a three-Judge bench to hear and determine the suit.

The petitions want the bench to exclude Judges Antony Mrima, David Majanja, Chacha Mwita, Mugure Thande and Eunice Ngetich on the basis that they have already dealt with the matter.

Related Topics